Bren Dean and Professor Are Among Newest AAAS Fellows


Bren Professor Frank Davis and Dean Steven Gaines will be celebrated later this month for having been awarded the distinction of Fellow by the American Academy for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers in recognition of scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. This year 531 new Fellows were named, each of whom will be honored at a ceremony to be held Saturday, February 20, from 8 to 10 a.m. at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2010 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Diego.

The names of the new AAAS Fellows also appear in the AAAS "News & Notes" section of the December 18 issue of the journal Science.

Frank W. Davis was recognized for what AAAS describes as “distinguished scholarship in landscape ecology and contributions to public policy on protection of natural resources,” while Steve Gaines was cited for his “fundamental contributions to ecology, particularly for integrating empirical and theoretical approaches to larval dispersal and the dynamics of populations in the oceans.”

“Over the years I have been fortunate to collaborate with many top scientists here at UCSB and elsewhere,” said Davis. “It is a special honor to be recognized by peers for both my research and my contributions to natural resource policy.

Steve Gaines was out of the country and unavailable for comment when the announcement was made.

The Bren School is home to two other AAAS Fellows, professors Jeff Dozier and John Melack.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal Science. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has an estimated worldwide readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more.



Frank Davis


Steve Gaines