National Praise for Group Project Water Plan

The UCSB Water Action Plan developed by six Bren School master's students as their 2013 Group Project has earned national recognition. UCSB was one of only four universities across the nation to be recognized by Earth Day Network for its innovative and "remarkable" advances in water conservation.

Water Action Plan Group Project members, from left: Jewel Snavely, Rebecca Dorsey, Dane Johnson, Matthew O'Carroll, Briana Seapy, and Katie Cole.
Photo by Mo Lovegreen

The Group Project team, which consisted of 2013 MESM graduates Katie Cole, Rebecca Dorsey, Dane Johnson, Matthew O'Carroll, Briana Seapy, and Jewel Snavely, had already been recognized by the state for its efforts at creating a long-term water conservation plan for the university. The idea for the Group

Project came in response to a mandate from the University of California Office of the President requiring every UC campus to develop a long-term plan to conserve wate in order to meet the the requirement that the entire UC system reduce water waste by 20 percent by 2020. By 2011, UCSB had already surpassed that goal and is now positioned to reduce water use by another 20 percent by 2028.

The 40-year-old Earth Day Network, whcih dates back to the first Earth Day and works to promote sustainability practices through environmental campaigns, educational activities, civic programs, and more, described the UCSB Water Action Plan as "one of the most comprehensive water management plans ever created by a university," adding, "So far, the results have been remarkable. This plan will help UCSB and, by example, other academic institutions, move on this important resource now.”

See the article at Earth Day Network.
See another article in Noozhawk.

The other institutions of higher learning to have been included in the EDN's weeklong coverage of sustainability and conservation highlights included Evergreen State College in Washington, recognized for its on-campus land management practices; the University of Minnesota, Morris, for its renewable energy portfolio; and American University for its waste management strategy.