Zurich Funds Distinguished Visitors

The Zurich Financial Services Distinguished Visitors program allows the Bren School to host international leaders in environmental policy, law, business, and science to enrich and expand the intellectual life of the Bren School community and share insight on issues critical to climate change. Activities of the visitors, who are in residence for periods ranging from one week to one quarter, include teaching short courses, offering public lectures, conducting seminars, and leading colloquia and symposia planned around their research, professional endeavors, or areas of expertise.

Distinguished Visitors for Winter Quarter 2018

Gavin Schmidt, Climate Scientist
Gavin Schmidt will be in residence at the Bren School Jan. 8-12, 2018. His public colloquium will take place Wednesday, Jan. 10 in Bren Hall 1414.

Gavin Schmidt is a climate scientist with over 120 publications. He has won multiple awards for science communication, including the inaugural Climate Communication Prize from AGU in 2011, and was the coauthor of “Climate Change: Picturing the Science” published by Norton in 2009. He was recently made a AAAS Fellow and he is an adjunct Senior Researcher at the Columbia University Earth Institute and Director of the NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies. His 2014 TED talk has been viewed more than a million times.

Dan Dudek, Vice President, Asia, Environmental Defense Fund
Dan Dudek will be in residence at the Bren School Feb. 20-23, 2018. His public colloquium will take place Wednesday, Feb. 21 in Bren Hall 1414.

Dan received his PhD in Agricultural Economics from the University of California, Davis in 1979. He began his professional career in California in 1975 with the Economic Research Service developing and analyzing policies to control nonpoint source pollution from irrigated agriculture. As an assistant professor at the University of Massachusetts he developed an interest in acid rain. He joined the Environmental Defense Fund in 1986.

He led the EDF team that President George H.W. Bush praised for breaking the logjam on acid rain. The core of that work was the cap-and-trade model included in the Clean Air Act amendments of 1990 that led to dramatic reductions in sulfur dioxide emissions, a chief cause of acid rain. Dudek partnered with BP to develop their internal GHG trading system, with the Polish Environment Ministry to pilot SO2 emissions trading, with Russia’s Goskompriroda on the US Initiative on Joint Implementation, with GM on vehicle scrappage, and with Illinois on NOx and VOC trading. He has also been an adviser and consultant to numerous international organizations and governments including the OECD; UNCTAD; the Secretary of Energy’s Advisory Board; US EPA’s Acid Rain Advisory Committee and Council on Clean Air Act Compliance Analysis; and California’s AB-32 Market Advisory Committee.

Since launching EDF’s China Program in 1995, he has worked with China’s Ministry of Environmental Protection (MEP) and the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) to develop effective and efficient pollution control programs for both conventional and greenhouse gases. In 2004, Dan received China’s National Friendship Award, the nation’s highest honor conferred on foreigners. He has also received Shanghai’s Magnolia Award for environmental service to that city. He has served on two councils that personally advise the Premier on environmental issues, the China Council for International Cooperation on Environment and Development and the Foreign Experts Advisory Council.

Most recently, he has led a scoping study to develop a strategy to tackle India’s urban air pollution crisis.

Distinguished Visitor for Spring Quarter 2018

Jacqueline McGlade, Director, Science Division, UN Environment Programme
Jacqueline McGlade will be in residence at the Bren School in April 2018. Her public colloquium will take place Monday, April 9 in Bren Hall 1414.

Past Zurich Distinguished Visitors
Dale Jamieson, May 2017; see the video
Jonathan Foley, February 2017; see the video
Lord John Krebs, January 2017; see the video
Lord John Krebs, January 2016; see the video
Steve Polasky, May 2015
; see the video
Charles Godfray, April 2015; see the video
Tim Flannery, May 2014; see the video
Tom Swetnam, March 2014; see the video
Don Wuebbles, May 2013
; see the video
Margaret Davidson, April 2013; see the video
Andy Revkin, May 2012; see the video
Edward S. Rubin, February 2012; see the video
Dennis Ojima, October 2011; see the video
Denny Ellerman, March 2011;see the video
Virgilio Viana, October 2010; see the video
Mike Toman, April 2010; see the video
Matt Kahn, January 2010; see the video
Lynn Scarlett, October 2009; see the video
Richard Duke, April 2009; see the video
Thomas Lyon, February 2009; see the video
Stephen Schneider, October 2008; see the video