Skip to main content

Jayajit Chakraborty

Jayajit Chakraborty

Professor & Mellichamp Chair in Racial Environmental Justice

Bren 4520


Jayajit Chakraborty is a Professor and Mellichamp Chair in Racial Environmental Justice at the Bren School of Environmental Science & Management at UC Santa Barbara. He has a Ph.D. in Geography and M.S. in Urban & Regional Planning, both from the University of Iowa. He is currently serving as a member of the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Science Advisory Board, Work Group for Review of Science Supporting EPA Decisions, and the EPA Environmental Justice Science Committee. He is chairing the Scientific Review Panel for the EPA's EJScreen Mapping & Screening Tool and is serving as a lead discussant/member of the EPA Environmental Justice Science & Analysis Review Panel. He also serves on a National Academies of Sciences Committee that provides recommendations regarding data and tools for meeting the goals of the White House Justice 40 Initiative, and the Health Effects Institute’s Environmental Justice Oversight Panel. 

Professor Chakraborty’s research activities encompass a wide range of concerns related to the social dimensions of climate and environmental change, with an emphasis on environmental justice and community vulnerability to hazards and disasters. Other topics of interest include climate justice, disability justice, food security, and health equity. His scholarship has examined environmental and social inequalities at multiple geographic scales in the US, US-Mexico border, Australia, and India. His research utilizes a variety of methodologies, including applications of GIScience and spatial statistical techniques, as well as social surveys and mixed-methods approaches. 

Professor Chakraborty has published more than 120 articles/chapters and 4 books, including The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice and a chapter for the US Government’s Fifth National Climate Assessment (NCA5). His research has been funded by grants from the EPA, US National Science Foundation (NSF), US Department of Transportation, US Department of Treasury, American Association of Geographers, Australian Research Council, and many other agencies. He was also a recipient of the University of Texas System Faculty STARs Award and the NSF Geospatial Fellowship for Advancing COVID-19 Research and Education. He currently serves on the editorial board of several journals, including Environmental Justice and Environment, Development & Sustainability

arrow up icon